Coffee Anyone? 17 Dec 11

The stress of moving is one I am no stranger to. I have moved twenty times in my life, and am working on move number twenty-one. That averages out to about one move every two years. Oddly enough that is how long it takes me to get itchy feet, and tired of looking at the same four walls of my bedroom. After two years in the same place, no matter how much I love it, I am ready to move on. Moving is a drop in the bucket for me. It is something I relish and look forward to that way most people would view an upcoming trip to the Bahamas. It’s all a big, fun adventure to me.

I love getting to meet new people, do new things, find new places, explore, etc. For years I never knew what it was like to have roots in a town. The town I currently live in I have been living in for almost 15 years, with a two year side trip to South Korea thrown in. I have roots here. It doesn’t stymie my desire for a new adventure in a move, but it has changed my perspective on the relationships I leave behind. Although I have made many friends along my journey, I have lost track of many. Relationships change when they are not right in front of you. I would disagree with the analogy that absence makes the heart grow fonder. Memories can fade, and the true strength of relationships is the test of time.

It is exciting to know I have new friends already waiting for me when I get to my new location, but I am also greatly aware of the great friends I am leaving behind. My dream would be to move, but take all the people I love here with me to my next residence, so I do not have to give up seeing them all whenever I want.

Perhaps that is why relationships are so important to me. I am the type of person that will drop everything to go have coffee with a friend, or talk on the phone for hours about the how to solve the world in 30 minutes or less. I don’t spend nearly as much time as I probably should on cleaning the house, but the house will always remain, the relationships might not. I have had a fair share of friends pass away to not be naïve that my friends will be there tomorrow. I know the house will, I never know about the loved ones in my life.

I am definitely more established now here than I ever have been anyplace else. But still we move on. Thus is the military life style. But I value my friendships more than I ever have, and that fact alone will make this a very different move.

Oops, the phone is ringing. Time for a coffee run with my friend.

Leave a Reply

