02 Jan 12 Good Morning, New Year!

 Right off the bat I feel that I have been convicted to make some rather radical changes in my lifestyle. Not so much resolutions, but they feel more like ultimatums. There are so many things out there about cancer and food. More and more every day. I hate that. I really hate that. See, all my favorite foods are on the “can’t have” list. Ok, the “shouldn’t have” list. Either way, I am not happy.

I am an emotional eater by nature, and very much so a taste driven person. I love my starches. Potatoes are my go-to food when I feel sick, or sad. I’m a total carnivore. My mouth waters at the thought of a 16oz prime rib. I’m not so much of a dessert person, except when I feel over stressed. Then, well, let’s just say it wasn’t the boys who ate the whole bag of cookies in one setting.   

The more I read, the more I see “eat more veggies. Eat less meat. Stay away from starches.” Ugh. Then there is the oils to cook with; no corn, peanut, or safflower oils. Olive oil is the main oil of choice. Stay away from butter. Limit salt. Did I mention I am a salt-a-holic as well?About the only thing I have going for me is that I love garlic.

I’m not even supposed to be drinking my coffee anymore. I’m supposed to be switching to green tea. Then other studies (not cancer studies) say coffee is good for you. Same with wine. Alcohol is supposed to be bad in that it is food for cancer cells, but wine is supposed to be good for the heart.

I am a “everything in moderation” person, but I am feeling convicted that this is not going to be enough. SO although this is not a resolution for the New Year, I think I need a lifestyle over haul…

Leave a Reply

